The Top 10 Books of 2014

It’s been a good reading year – I’ve smashed my Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge (currently on 73 books); re-read some great books; and been introduced to quite a few new authors.

I do have one worry, however, and that’s the number of books I’ve yet to read. I recently came across this ditty little fact and it’s been haunting me since I saw it.

 09590cc200771a526ddd7f9e8128ba04

3900 books?! That’s it?! And that’s only 1/10 of 1% of books ever published? And how many new books are published each year? For any book addict, there’s just simply not enough time and way too many books in the world.

In fact, I now have 3 different TBR piles; yes folks, it has gotten that bad.

  1. The main bookshelf: is 90% full of books I haven’t read, these are the ones that are pretty low down in my TBR list, not because they’re less worthy, but because I don’t see them as often as they’re in the living room.
  2. The bedroom bookshelf: 100% full of books I haven’t read, these are the ones I’m meant to be very soon. The top three shelves are full of books I should be reading within a month or so (some have been there for over 6 months).
  3. The bottom shelf: The books I’m currently reading or will be reading next. There are normally 1 or 2 books on this shelf. At the moment there are 10.

See my problem? It takes as much time to choose what book to read nowadays as it does to actually read it! OK, maybe a slight exaggeration, but you get my drift.

Anyways, rant over. To celebrate a successful reading year, here are my top-10 books of 2014, in alphabetical order because I couldn’t decide on a favourite.


037082-FC50The Assassin’s Apprentice – by Robin Hobb

A brilliant re-read. I spent the entire month reading the Farseer trilogy and loved it! Robin Hob is an amazing fantasy writer and I’m almost done another series and have many more of her books lined up for next year.

a-single-manA Single Man – by Christopher Isherwood

A new writer for me, and easily a top 5 book this year. I was holding back tears by page 4. This is poignant and humorous, honest and gentle novel and one I’ve given to numerous friends to read.

bad newsBad News – by Edward St. Aubyn

Bleak but brilliant, the depictions of the protagonist in the throes of a drug fix is some of the best literature I have read. Ever.

085037-FC50Bird Box – by Josh Malerman

A high concept thriller that proves that creepiness and primal fear trumps violence. This is also the book that got me hooked on thrillers this year.

the-circleThe Circle – by Dave Eggers

A gripping, modern-day twist on an old classic – I was more than a bit freaked out whilst reading it.

poa-uk-kids-jacket-artHarry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban – by J.K. Rowling

Best re-read this year. Favourite Harry Potter book. Need I say more?

TThe Knife of Never Letting Gohe Knife of Never Letting Go – by Patrick Ness

This one made the list because it’s c. 530 pages and I finished it in 5.5 hours and moved straight on to the second book. A brilliant trilogy by Patrick Ness and an author I’m sure to read more of.

Ocean_at_the_End_of_the_Lane_US_CoverThe Ocean at the End of the Lane – by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a haunting novel about sacrifice, boundaries and memories. Another new author for me and I’ve got a few more of his novels to get through.

doriangraThe Picture of Dorian Grey – by Oscar Wilde

A tale of art and sin, a study of the corruption of the human soul through vanity and hedonistic selfishness. The best classic I’ve read this year and definitely a book I will read again.

9970042Whispers Underground – by Ben Aaronovitch

The best book in the series so far. With murder, genius loci, magic and humour throughout, there’s not much more I could ask from a book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.