Review: The Bone Season, Samantha Shannon

The_Bone_Season_coverSynopsis: The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing. It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

Title: The Bone Season
Author: Samantha Shannon
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pub Date: 24th April 2014
Pages: 480
ISBN: 9781408836453

Rating: 4stars

If you read this blog, you’ll know that I do like my YA books. I mean, I hate myself slightly for liking them so much (I’m 28, I should be over it by now!) but I just can’t help but get sucked into a good story, no matter what the intended age of the reader.

However, whenever I’ve gone to start The Bone Season, I’ve hesitated. For some reason I was sure that a friend didn’t enjoy it and was put off. But one unfortunate day I finished my book on the commute home and the other 50 options on my e-reader just weren’t screaming ‘read me!’. So I started this.

And it started slow, if I’m honest. It took a while to get used to the ‘clairvoyant’ theme – I’m used to magic, angels and vampires but, apparently, clairvoyance is a step too far!

But then the plot thickened, the pace picked up, and we were introduced to the Warden – clearly the best character, ever. And everything changed, I was hooked. I raced through the rest of the story, fell in love with said Warden…and Nick…and Seb. When I got to the last page, I was heartbroken and screaming with frustration – I HAD to know what happens next.

So here we are. I’ve broken my book ban and bought Mime Order; it’ll be here in a day. Once that’s over, I’m not quite sure what I’ll do with myself till the third book is out. Bloomsbury, if you can hear me… I’d really appreciate an ARC!

Leave a Reply

