Review: All my Friends are Superheroes – by Andrew Kaufman

All my Friends are SuperheroesSynopsis: All Tom’s friends really are superheroes. Tom even married a superhero, the Perfectionist. But at their wedding the Perfectionist is hypnotized by her ex, Hypno, to believe that Tom is invisible. Nothing he does can make her see him. Six months later, the Perfectionist is sure that Tom has abandoned her, so she’s moving to Vancouver. She’ll use her superpowers to leave all the heartbreak behind. With no idea that Tom’s beside her, she boards the plane. Tom has, until they touch down, to convince her he’s there, or he loses her forever.

Title: All my Friends are Superheroes
Author: Andrew Kaufman
Publisher: Telegram Books
Pages: 108
ISBN: 9781846590009

Rating: 3stars

After reading The Tiny Wife I’ve been recommended this book around 5 times by different friends and bloggers. Thankfully, it came up as a book club read this month so I could finally find the right excuse to start it.

This is a sweet little thing of a book and, although a bit clichéd, is a joy to read. You can’t help but fall into the world of superheroes – I kept thinking what superpower I would have, and what it would say about me? (I still don’t know the answer this!)

My only fault with All my Friends are Superheroes was that the superheroes gimmick wore off quite quickly, aided by the fact that some superheroes didn’t really work for me. The ending was also a bit too – for lack of a better phrase – ‘Hollywood happy happy’ for my taste.

Despite this, I loved the concept of some of the superheroes (the Face was a definite favourite); and adored the friend/lover bit – don’t worry, that doesn’t give anything away.

All in all, this is another whimsical gem of a story, not necessarily my favourite Kaufman, but something I would read again.

2 thoughts on “Review: All my Friends are Superheroes – by Andrew Kaufman

Leave a Reply

