The Hobbit – by J.R.R Tolkien

The hobbitSynopsis: Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely travelling further than the pantry of his hobbit-hole in Bag End.

But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard, Gandalf, and a company of thirteen dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an unexpected journey ‘there and back again’. They have a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon…

 

Title: The Hobbit
Author: J.R.R. Tolkien
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 400
ISBN: 9780007487288

Rating:5stars
With the coming of the Hobbit movie, I had taken it upon myself to read ‘The Hobbit’ before watching it. Unfortunately, fate would not allow me to finish the book before seeing the film (3 times in one week!) but, thankfully, the film didn’t deter me from continuing the book. In fact, it spurred me on – you can thank this on a slight … OK, huge crush on the character, Thorin.

I won’t bore anyone with a run down of the plot, if we haven’t all already read it as children, we’ve read it to the younger generations or, more recently, watched the film. I think I can safely say that everyone has an idea of what it’s about (and if you don’t – shame on you!).

What I will comment on, however, is the depth and – there’s no other way to say it – the warm, fuzzy feeling you get from the narrative. Tolkien’s tone effortlessly glides you back to a younger time, where magic is a natural part of everyday life. It doesn’t matter how old I am when I read this, I instantly become eight again and I find myself completely bewitched and enthralled by the story.

Tolkien’s narrative is a kindly old man with a beard – almost Father Christmas like; sat by a roaring wood fire, who animatedly recounts this tale of adventure and friendship. At least, that is what I imagine when I read it; I can’t help but be charmed by his depiction of Bilbo’s adventure.

3 thoughts on “The Hobbit – by J.R.R Tolkien

Leave a Reply

